Released May 1st, 2017, Forensic Faith is the third in a trilogy of books by Cold-Case Detective J. Warner Wallace.  The back of the book description reads like this:

Christianity has a rich, evidential history, yet most of us are ill prepared to make the case for what we believe.  In Forensic Faith, veteran detective J. Warner Wallace teaches us the principles investigators use so we can develop a clear, evidence-based faith.  Forensic Faith will help you

  • embrace your duty to defend the truth;
  • devise a training strategy to master the evidence for Christianity;
  • learn how to employ the techniques of a detective to discover new insights from God’s Word; and
  • become a better communicator by learning the skills of professional case makers.

Full disclosure: I have followed J. Warner Wallace for the last two years when I first heard him on a podcast episode I was listening to at work.  Before the end of the episode, I had purchased the audio book to God’s Crime Scene and found Cold-Case Christianity and Please Convince Me.  I have since used videos and concepts gained from his website, YouTube channel, and podcasts to introduce ideas and themes to the two small groups that Beth and I have led.  His ‘One Dollar Apologist’ podcast episode gave me the final push to start The Five Minute Christian blog.

So needless to say, I was shocked when I threw my copy of Forensic Faith across the room after just five pages into the Preface.  I didn’t even hit the first chapter yet and I screamed in my empty den: “HOW DID HE!”

I went into the back office, where my lovely wife, Beth, was on the computer and read this:

I’m not the only one to notice how anti-intellectual the church is today.  Atheist activist and philosophy professor Peter Boghossian wrote a book in 2013 entitled A Manual for Creating Atheists.  It was published around the same time my first book, Cold-Case Christianity, hit the bookshelves…

The author continues to explain Boghossian’s hopes in training atheists how to approach Christians and their “blind faith”.

The first book I read after Kingdom Man by Tony Evans was this aforementioned book by Boghossian.  I have since followed one of his disciples Anthony Magnabosco on YouTube and used the videos in lessons.

Long story just a little bit longer, J. Warner Wallace starts this book in the same place I started my journey.  This book didn’t stop or slow down, either.  If you find yourself needing a safe and definite place to start your journey, this book is it.  But you can’t stop here.  This isn’t intended to be a start to finish spiritual journey, but instead a father giving a child a push start on a bicycle.  Once the book lets go, you have to keep pedaling.

It doesn’t leave you high and dry either, the last 21 pages of the book covers four sections of notes, rebuttals, and resources.  Also, the first page after the Table of Contents is a direction to go to a website to download the free facilitator’s guide.

I personally will be using this book and it’s companion guide for years to come and whether you are a seasoned case maker or an evidential youngling, I believe you will too.

JT

20170425_192124-01
My pre-thrown copy…
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Forensic Faith by J. Warner Wallace

Leave a Reply

